Timken Company Education Fund Awards $310,000 to 38 Scholarship Winners in 2010

Timken Company Education Fund Awards $310,000 to 38 Scholarship Winners in 2010 CANTON, Ohio: June 29, 2010 The Timken Company Education Fund has awarded $310,000 in scholarships to 38 college-bound students, all children of Timken associates upon application from among its operations around the world. Among the winners is Rena Steiger of Canton, Ohio, the first recipient of the Henry Timken Scholar Award. Steiger, daughter of Timken tube mill operator John Steiger, will receive up to $50,000 for annual college expenses. The award, which is the largest and recognizes the top-ranked applicant, is renewable for three years, or until the candidate earns a bachelor's degree. Steiger, a Perry High School graduate, plans to study pre-medicine at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. Additionally, two other top students received $30,000 renewable awards, with the balance receiving between $5,000 and $10,000. All awards were based upon merit with additional preference for the smaller awards going to students who intend to pursue degrees in science, technology, engineering or mathematics. The other top winners for 2010 are: $30,000 Three-Year Renewable Scholarships: Zachary Denham, son of Kimberly Kavadas, principal buyer in Canton and Pete Kavadas, who has worked as a section manager in alloy steel; and Carli Nicholson, daughter of Steven Nicholson, mechanical maintainer, Faircrest Steel Plant in Canton. Denham, from New Philadelphia High School in New Philadelphia, Ohio, plans to study engineering at The Ohio State University. Nicholson is from Sandy Valley High School in Magnolia, Ohio, and plans to study chemistry at Duke University. $10,000 Three-Year Renewable Scholarships: David Cote, son of Timken retiree William Cote; Nicole Davis, daughter of Clifton Davis, principal lean analyst, Honea Path, S.C.; Conor Eckhardt, son of Kerry Eckhardt, business readiness manager, Canton; Samuel Mercer, son of Samuel Mercer, quality advancement specialist, Union, S.C.; and Alec Samolczyk, son of Timken retiree Mark Samolczyk. Cote, from Lewis S. Mills High School in Burlington, Conn., plans to study mechanical engineering at Columbia University. Davis, from Belton Honea Path High School, plans to study pharmacy at the University of North Carolina. Eckhardt, from Strasburg-Franklin High School in Strasburg, Ohio, plans to study mechanical engineering at Grove City College. Mercer is from Spartanburg High School in Spartanburg, S.C., and plans to study engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. Samolczyk is from Central Catholic High School in Canton and plans to study chemistry at Dartmouth College. $5,000 Scholarships: Samantha Bagnola, Central Catholic High School, Canton; Kendra Campbell, Newport Middle High School, Newport, N.H.; Michael Campbell, Green High School, Green, Ohio; James Darnley, GlenOak High School, Plain Township, Ohio; Chelsea Faulkner, Gaston Christian School, Gastonia, N.C.; Benjamin P. Finley, Canton South High School, Canton; Michael E Haney, Gilbert High School, Gilbert, S.C.; Sijia Hao, Plymouth High School, Canton, Mich.; Bethany J. Happach, Black Forest Academy, Baden-Wurrtemberg, Germany; Lucas Heck, Canton Central Catholic High School; Lauren Karaman, UNC School of the Arts, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Rahul Kumar, Vig English School, Jamshedpur, India; Jessica Leach, Asheboro High School, Asheboro, N.C.; Ellen Martin, Jackson High School, Jackson Township, Ohio; Marcus Mazzaferri, GlenOak High School; Brittany Menning, Kearsarge Regional High School, North Sutton, N.H.; Kathryn Milligan, Hoover High School, North Canton, Ohio; Chase Richards, Malvern High School, Malvern, Ohio; Erica Rickey, Norwayne High School, Creston, Ohio; Owen Riley, GlenOak High School; Taylor Roman, Hoover High School; Tanya Srivastava, Jackson High School; Lorena Andreea Stanciu, Nicolae Iorga, Valenii de Munte, Romania; Melinda Thomas, Jackson High School; Micah Thorn, Canton South High School; Juliana Torquata, Chapel School, Sao Paulo, Brazil; Jordan Wanner, Canton South High School; Carly Wynn, Barberton High School, Barberton, Ohio; Zuodong Yang, Yantai No. 3 Middle School, Yantai, China; and Jing Zhang, No. 2 Middle School, Yantai. Established in 1958, the Timken Company Educational Fund has provided nearly 470 scholarships to the sons and daughters of Timken associates and recent retirees. Changes made to the scholarship program in late 2009 extended the number of yearly awards available. Beginning in 2010, scholarship winners will be able to attend any accredited/approved university of their choice, and the scholarship may be used for the cost of tuition, fees, books, supplies, room and board and transportation.

Our advantages
Timken bearings
Hydraulic pullers
Induction heaters
Rolling mill
Pulp and paper
Oil and gas
Machine tool
Application Examples

© Eurotrade 2005.